The Getaway Bag

.

When I signed up for this gig, one of the things the powers that be asked of us was to keep a small backpack ready to go in case of an emergency evacuation. They instructed us that the backpack should contain a change of clothes, your passport and IDs, important papers, toiletries, prescription medicines, and some basic rations.

For the longest time (over two years, if I am to confess), I ignored this directive. Too lazy to put together a bag, probably. Or more closer to the truth, I didn’t do it because it seemed to me that to prepare for this kind of event will invariably make it come into being. Superstitious, I know. But lately I have been thinking about packing a small bag for weeks. I don’t know what it is, but now I want to be able to pick up this bag and get out of here, in case I have to.

So I packed. Choosing the bag was easy–I had a camera bag that was roomy and light enough to lug around. It was styled like a sling bag and wraps across the body, the contents made easily accessible, making it more convenient than a backpack that you had to strap to your back.

Into this emergency bag went:

- my two passports, in a ziploc bag

- about $75 in small bills

- cargo pants

- three shirts (sleeveless, regular, quarter sleeves)

- 1 pair of socks

- pashmina

- good underwear in a ziploc bag

- toiletries (mini bottles)

- toothbrush + toothpaste + mouthwash

- spare pair of contact lenses

- small bottle of contact lens solution

- packet of M&Ms peanut

- small folding scalpel

- Gerber multi-tool set

- ballpen + Post It pad

- tissue paper

- Shure flashlight

- roll of mints

I thought, hmm… a book? No, really no time for introspective reading when you need to be on full alert. Maybe one bottle of perfume, less than 100ml? But then I thought that was just giving in to vanity, not crucial to survival. Instead, I added a small bottle of lotion, much more practical. No sense having to suffer dry skin just because I’m a fugitive.

I’ve placed the bag near the door, within grabbing reach. If need be I can get to my room, hoist the bag over my head, grab a bottle of water and a light jacket, then slip quickly out the building.  Hopefully, into a waiting Huey/plane and out of harm’s way.

Sounds like a plan, doesn’t it?

2 responses to “The Getaway Bag

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

