Booked

Posted on Updated on

LiaisonsThe lovely Gigi tagged me with a book meme. How in the world does she know I’ve been remiss on my reading lately (ponder ponder, chew on nail)? I do plan to remedy that soon, oh yes.

Off on a tangent, thinking about books made me realize that I miss this one boy—he used to give me books as presents. Ah well. That, as they say, is another story.

In the meantime, here are my answers:

You’re stuck inside Fahrenheit 451, which book do you want to be?
I’d want to be an anthology of 21st century poetry. It should be a very thick volume, indeed.

Have you ever had a crush on a fictional character?
Oh yes, on Tom Sawyer when I was 10, I think. I’ve always had a thing for the incorrigible.

The last book you’ve bought is:
Her Husband, by Dianne Middlebrook. This is insight into the marriage and collaborative writing style of Ted Hughes and Sylvia Plath. It sheds light on a lot of their poems, and their individual personalities.

The last book you’ve read:
The Tesseract
by Alex Garland. A re-reading actually, because I couldn’t sleep at the time. This was months ago. I need to read new books!

What are you currently reading?
This is embarrassing, but I have been perusing a lot of interior design books lately. It’s like a fetish, I go to the bookstore and wander for hours, ogling the pages of these books, inhaling that new-book smell, devouring the colors, and surreptitiously scanning the text. Somebody take me away.

Five books you would take to a deserted island:
Deserted island huh? Assuming I couldn’t bring Jude Law, then these 5 will help pass the time:

1. The English Patient by MICHAEL ONDAATJE – History, the clash of cultures, desire, suspicion, rumors, poetry, and love passing in and out of various lives—written as though in a hallucination. Ondaatje’s descriptions of the wind, the desert, human nature, events in history, make me sigh.

2. The complete The Sandman series (Neil Gaiman) – Way, way better than TV.

3. Les Liaisons Dangereuses (Oxford World’s Classics) by Choderlos De Laclos – Very intriguing, even if you haven’t seen the movie based on this book. And maybe because it’s translated from the French, the words just flow languidly along. Good reading for those days when there is a storm raging outside, or when Jude vexes me.

4. The Complete Poems : Anne Sexton by Maxine Kumin – Her poetry clears the head, but goes well with mirages.

Consider these lines:

Imagine it. A radio playing
and everyone here was crazy.
I liked it and danced in a circle.
Music pours over the sense
and in a funny way
music sees more than I.
I mean it remembers better;
remembers the first night here.
It was the strangled cold of November;
even the stars were strapped in the sky
and that moon too bright
forking through the bars to stick me
with a singing in the head.
I have forgotten all the rest.

5. Any large, thick, thousand-page law book. So I can find out particulars for the suit I will be filing against the transport company that left me stranded on a desert island. And the pages will come in handy for building fires and stuff.

Who will you pass this quiz to?
I don’t know if he does memes, but I’m really curious what books the boy from the peanut gallery will bring to a desert island.

Leave a Reply

