It’s All Grey

Posted on Updated on

cast pic

Typical of my propensity to grab hold of an idea and not let go until I beat that concept to a pulp, I stayed up all day and all night in a marathon viewing of Grey’s Anatomy. The entire first and second series, folks. A continuous stream of episodes. No let up. I went through two DVDs like a hot knife through butter. Smoothly, pausing only to feed the kiddies or to observe personal hygiene breaks. Not much else.

And I watched episode after episode until there were no more to be watched. I watched as the light outside changed, watched as the rest of the house went to sleep or woke up around me. I kept on watching even when I couldn’t bear it, couldn’t bear the strange parallel universe that flew at me from the screen. I though, this must be how his days are like. A whole universe that should have been alien to me, but was familiar because once upon a time, I saw it through his eyes.

Ah enough with the sentimental slush. Even without it, the series is a truly absorbing watch. Tight plots, great cast, feisty characters, a hip soundtrack, sexy pairings—my gosh medicine was never this hot! Sure, doctors are admirable, but a cold stethoscope never did turn me on. Well actually, one particular doctor’s bedside manners did, ha-ha. But oh well, let’s keep that under wraps.

I did learn a lot of medical stuff, though I’m not sure what I’ll do with all that mishmash knowledge about brain surgery, tumor invasions, spinal taps, waking up from comas, bovine heart valve replacements, hermaphroditism, and so much else. Not exactly fodder for everyday social situations, no?

Maybe if another doctor comes into my life I’ll have a better chance at holding up my end of the conversation.

5 thoughts on “It’s All Grey

    k.d. said:
    September 9, 2006 at 1:24 pm

    tell me more about a doctor’s bedside manners… 😛

    Gigi said:
    September 11, 2006 at 8:15 am

    God, I LOVE this show! I can’t wait until the Season 2 DVD series comes out here on September 12th (uncut at that) and especially for September 21st when the new season begins. McDreamy or McVet? I definitely know whom I’d choose (against my better judgment of course — and besides, O’Donnell is slated to appear on only six episodes. 🙂 ). And you?

    melissabee responded:
    September 12, 2006 at 11:37 am

    Hi Gi! I didn’t stop until I finished the last episode of the 2nd season. Hotness, what can I say? I’m dreaming up subplots to the episodes in my head, I can’t wait for the 3rd season!

    KD: Dude, bedside manners–ahem, that would lead to a whole new blog entry!

    petite said:
    September 17, 2006 at 10:00 am

    it’s interesting that you brought this up, melissabee. i usually don’t like medical-related shows (because i want to escape from those topics/issues when i get home), but i’ve heard a lot of good things about grey’s anatomy. i’m planning to watch it when the next season starts in september 21.

    and i can totally relate with your “marathon tv series” experience – i did the same with the simpsons, 24, and csi (las vegas)”. watching succeeding episodes of those shows one after the other helped to dull the sharp pangs of homesickness i felt in my first six months away from home. 🙂

    thebee said:
    September 18, 2006 at 2:48 am

    Sunshiny girl! Welcome to the new hive. I did the 24 and CSI marathon too! LOL. It’s my escape from stress, tuning out to TV/movies.

    You know, I used to like ER too, even when it’s all hospitals and such. I don’t like hospitals (being sick), but I do like hhhmmmmmm some doctors lalala.

Leave a Reply

