Phoenix: She Rises

Posted on Updated on

fire girl

Okay, so she is supposed to rise from the ashes, not emerge from a fiery backdrop like some vampy disco queen, but well as you can see from this teaser, the art looks awesome. And she is all mine.

This firewoman is X-Men: Phoenix Endsong, all supermegamillion megabytes of it sent to me across the web from my sis in Canada. I am not one to look a gift phoenix in the mouth, so I am enjoying each lovely panel without compunctions. It’s different from an actual comic book, it’s pixels instead of paper, and well, it’s minus the heady ink smell. But still, it’s a world you can fall into and not raise your head for hours.

The images in the panels are breath-taking. Sometimes I skim over the words, in my rush to unfold the movement of the story as it arcs page to page. My sis sent me several issues. I am hoarding them, gorging bit by bit to make the indulgence last.

3 thoughts on “Phoenix: She Rises

    petite said:
    September 19, 2006 at 3:23 am

    oooh, looks exciting! the dark phoenix, she is calling to me. 😉

    i loved dark phoenix saga, or as mark calls it, “the first time she (jean grey/dark phoenix) died”. so is this the very, very last time she dies, i wonder? 🙂

    thebee responded:
    September 20, 2006 at 12:17 pm

    Hi petite. I’m glad you like the Pheonix as well, I love the dark imagery of her character, how she has inner battles and is constantly struggling to be at ease with her powers. Very metaphoric, huh? All women can surely relate! 🙂

    banzai cat said:
    September 23, 2006 at 8:41 am

    Can’t you download these on torrent? I’m just discovering the joys of getting comics free on the web meself. Thank DSL (or not if they’re giving bad service).

Leave a Reply

