Truth, Stranger Than Fiction

Posted on Updated on

me+macMy sister and I, we chat between those long download waits. I tell her about my new blog addy, she peeps in and then tells me how amazed she is at all this writing coming out of nowhere. Writing about anything, is what she calls it. She wonders how I can do it. She says she’d have privacy issues if it were her.

And now that I have blabbed about that conversation to the www, it got me thinking. Yes, I actually thought about it, the act causing brief, spastic little twists in my brain. Do people who read this blog think I am the sum of what I write? A narcissist with a keyboard, mirroring my image onto the screen and spewing it out to the world (And does the world reflect it back, like a faithful, reactive audience)? I must admit the supposition disarms me.

I don’t think that I write up the whole entire girl that I am and offer it up for random consumption. No, really, I don’t. This is not the whole entire me. No, this is just bits and bytes that may be a smattering of facts, events actual or taken out of time, or maybe truth fictionalized and spun into some sense of order, into easily digestible, neat little entries.

Take a real life person, that sleep-deprived girl you see in line at the coffee shop, the quiet lady clutching a magazine in the doctor’s office, the frazzled mom pushing a grocery cart—that could be me. Away from all this. A random person, like anyone else.

And like most anyone else, I have another life, a private one that will not see the backlight of a computer screen, and the stories of that life are not splayed out here for all to see.

I just wanted to say: I write what I will, and I keep what I must.

 

12 thoughts on “Truth, Stranger Than Fiction

    lisa said:
    September 19, 2006 at 3:57 am

    Hi Bee,

    Just buzzing in to say that I lived in Quezon City for 6 months during college in 1993/4. (or was it 4/5?)

    I went to school there doing a service learning project. I loved it there. I’d like to go back again. Right now the Ugandans want me to visit them next though.

    Wound up in the PI because I was dating a guy whose family was from Angono, Rizal so when I wanted to do this service learning thing, we decided to go there.

    We broke up later but I still have those great pictures and memories and a travel book with little notes that say LAM/TDS were here and there all marked up in it.

    thebee responded:
    September 20, 2006 at 12:12 pm

    Wow Lisa, that’s amazing! I never knew that… glad you had a nice experience here in the PI, and I hope you get to come back. It’s a small world, indeed.

    zeroimpact said:
    September 20, 2006 at 3:12 pm

    I totally agree with what you have pen down. The true person has to be known in real life and not through mere words. However from words we get to know a person, from the person we get to know thier personality.
    I do reserve the truth in a way but then again, I do tell the truth, the truth that I do not mind sharing, others, well is displayed too in words, but it need a little bit more digestion to really get it.
    🙂

    petite said:
    September 20, 2006 at 8:16 pm

    I just wanted to say: I write what I will, and I keep what I must.

    and i say amen to that, sistah! 🙂

    thebee responded:
    September 21, 2006 at 2:44 am

    zeroimpact: Welcome, how did you manage to stumble in?

    petite: 😀 LOL nods to ya.

    zeroimpact said:
    September 21, 2006 at 6:51 am

    Thanks…
    I came from petite’s place…
    You have a nice blog
    Hope you don’t mind me stumbling upon it
    🙂

    checcs said:
    September 22, 2006 at 2:52 am

    isn’t that what a blog is supposed to be…. an exorcism of all/or a part of one’s self?

    thebee responded:
    September 22, 2006 at 6:58 am

    LOL Checcs. For some a blog is where they purge angst or vent emotions. For me though, a blog is mainly an excuse to write anything that comes to mind, fact as well as fiction. Thus, I should probably put a disclaimer here somewhere. 😀

    banzai cat said:
    September 23, 2006 at 8:39 am

    Well, I’d like to have a little anonymity when I’m writing so am sorely glad to be miscontrued/mistaken for anything else that I really am.

    Of course when I first met some of the bloggers in the 1st blog meet, they actually thought banzai cat was a girl. Arrgh!

    thebee responded:
    September 25, 2006 at 2:59 am

    Really! I never thought you were a girl… but I did think for a moment there that you were an actual cat mwehehhee.

    lee said:
    September 25, 2006 at 5:22 am

    is a boy allowed to comment here?

    thebee responded:
    September 25, 2006 at 5:36 am

    Lee! a boy? hehehe sure any other beings are welcome too. We need all the contact that we can get. 😀

Leave a Reply

