New York Sampler

Posted on Updated on


the gugg

Today’s lovely surprise: a postcard from New York, hurled to me across the miles by that so-called girl aka my sister. Five years my junior and the baby of the family, her life took on a sudden turn a couple of years ago, a turn that landed her in Baltimore.

Why the NY postcard? Well, she went to the Big Apple for a walk-and-gawk weekend, all by herself. I envy her NY trek, parts of which she details in her blog. She writes:

“In the Guggenheim, I wander through its meandering curves, gaping at the Picassos, the Pollocks, and the Kandinskys—fighting back tears and voices that say, ‘You’ve once only seen this in books.”

It’s transformative, the experience of having your mind blown away by travel, new surroundings, sights, sensations, great art. I too await my turn to set foot in New York, that city of dizzying contrasts. Who knows, one day maybe I can even drop by at the Guggenheim, too.

6 thoughts on “New York Sampler

    zeroimpact said:
    September 22, 2006 at 12:51 pm

    Traveling is indeed fun…
    You’d get to travel yourself, definitely
    It’s a will of oneself and of coz if you want to drop by at the Guggenheim, you’d get the chance 🙂
    May your wish come true…

    isko said:
    September 23, 2006 at 2:00 pm

    Hi Meli,

    The Guggenheim has been one of my favorite musueums but don’t forget that less than a mile away is the glorious Met. Also the MOMA has recently been transformed and just as inspiring. I am a huge museum buff because how can you not be when you get to experience such majesty. I am 4 hours away from NYC and wouldn’t mind at all to give you a tour when you get there. Just give me a ring.

    k.d. said:
    September 24, 2006 at 8:51 am

    “the glorious met” isko is 100% right.

    lee said:
    September 24, 2006 at 12:59 pm

    read your sister’s blog. what about your manang “raise hell”, does she blog too? then you all would be part of my daily reading…

    yeah travel. something i never have done much, so much to see and i’m stuck here.
    The guggenheim will wait, and when i’ll be there i’ll pee.

    thebee responded:
    September 25, 2006 at 5:35 am

    Hello lovely people!

    Isko and KD: yep, museums do it for me, too! I remember an accidental trip to one in Cincinnati where I saw several Van Goghs, some Monets, and Picassos. I was ecstatic. Lee I wish I was seeing those with you.

    Lee ang raisehell does not blog, tamad siya. She used to have a webpage but has since obliterated that. She does have strange commentaries for me from time to time.

    petite said:
    October 2, 2006 at 9:51 am

    ey, bee, your sister writes well too! i’ve added her blog to my list of reads, thanks to you. 🙂

    i’ve only been to nyc once, but the city just seemed so familiar to me. i’d really love to go back there someday.

Leave a Reply

