The Black Book

Posted on Updated on

As though the on-line world isn’t big enough to contain my words, I went ahead and bought this little black book, a palm-sized journal to hold my off-line thoughts.

I was first attracted to the cover art, two Filipino women dressed in their Old-World finery, circa long, long time ago. One clasps an abaniko, the other nonchalantly carries a parasol. And yet obviously, they are indoors, posed stiffly for posterity. I can almost hear the flashbulb exploding into white blindness. But it’s actually their haughty, pseudo-dreamy expression that really gets to me. They seem to be acquiescing to the pose of the moment, but it looks as though their minds are somewhere else.

Exactly like I am most of the time. Ah, yes.

5 thoughts on “The Black Book

    Fence said:
    October 9, 2006 at 9:47 am

    I’ve developed a habit of buying notebook type devices. And then never, ever using them.

    thebee responded:
    October 9, 2006 at 11:59 am

    I’ve had a few notebooks that are started but never finished. Sometimes they morph into grocery lists… sad, very sad.

    petite said:
    October 12, 2006 at 11:50 am

    oooh, this is very nice, melissabee! i have a notebook collection and this (or one very similar to it) would make a good addition. can you tell me where you got it, dearie? hanapin ko when we go to cebu. 🙂

    thebee responded:
    October 13, 2006 at 12:46 pm

    Petite! I have a better idea, hanapin mo ko when you get to Cebu and we’ll go notebook hunting together! Wheeee! Serious ako ha, even with the wheeing. 😀

    petite said:
    October 14, 2006 at 3:53 am

    hahaha, game! wheee din! 🙂

Leave a Reply

