Happy Uglies

Posted on Updated on

uglies

Hallowe’en is fast approaching, and it’s during this is the time of the year that I miss my stint in advertising. Yep, come Hallowe’een time, even here in the PI, advertising gets a big chunk of the budget for such silly spending as theme parties, trick or treats at the mall, orange and black everywhere, creepy gimmicks, and even creepier giveaways. The occasion is just an all-around excuse to be morbidly fun.

My one consolation is that on the web, Hallowe’en is viewed as an all-important holiday. Candy overload and all the kid costumes you could ever want. Me, I just lust after those Ugly Dolls up there.

I like the kind of dolls or stuffed toys that aren’t annoyingly cute, I hate those dolls that have bland, wholesome expressions (fake) on their button-nose faces. Those make me gag. I want the splodgy-looking ones, the ones that seem to have run splat on the glass door and are backing away, tiny stars spinning around their malformed heads. That, for me, is cute. Gimme!

12 thoughts on “Happy Uglies

    lee said:
    October 10, 2006 at 12:45 am

    oh yeah. nami no? hahaha. i like the green blob thing

    thebee responded:
    October 10, 2006 at 9:52 am

    Hehehe yep, super cute. That green one is Ox. That’s why I also like to browse the craft blogs, some folks with a lot of time on their hands create similar dolls, hand-crafted.

    etta said:
    October 11, 2006 at 5:27 am

    this is what my 2 yr old said when she saw the dolls, “scary mommy, scary than cookie monster”.

    lee said:
    October 11, 2006 at 6:52 am

    bandobee. i made a contribution to illustration friday. found the link dira sa kilid kilid ah

    thebee responded:
    October 11, 2006 at 7:28 am

    Hi Etts, your kid is afraid of Cookie Monster? My boys ya, they love the little blue guy.

    LeeSan: kita ko na imo ginpost na illustration. Lingaw no? Daw ma intra man ko hehehe maski palagpat lang bala. 😀

    isko said:
    October 12, 2006 at 1:25 am

    Hello Bloggers, daw hisa man ako sa inyo ba. Just to let you know, I have been faithfully reading your entries, Lee, Etta and Meli. It is part of my daily routine now. I support!

    PS: cross-commeting again – Etta, how come we cannot comment on your site?

    Ciao

    thebee responded:
    October 12, 2006 at 9:28 am

    Hey Isko! Abi pag blog na bala, I would love to read your posts. Btw, I have na the visa, so I’ll be there Nov. 3, let’s set the coffee time! 😀

    isko said:
    October 13, 2006 at 2:16 am

    November 3? No way, how perfect. Did you know I am running the New York Marathon on November 5, Sunday. Yes, 26.2 grueling miles. I have a lot of friends and family coming over to see me. We are goona party afterwards. Want to join? Of course, the invitation is extended to Etta as well. Come on, come see me make make a fool of myself.

    lee said:
    October 13, 2006 at 7:51 am

    wow. isko that’s great! 26.2 miles pwerte ba

    etta said:
    October 13, 2006 at 10:32 am

    melibee, til when ka diri? Nov. 3 until??? Let me know.
    Isko, I already adjusted the settings sang akon blog ha. I dunno what to do na. Leesan, help!!!Do i need to do something else para maka comment kamo sang akon pinalagpat?

    thebee responded:
    October 13, 2006 at 12:44 pm

    Ay grabe, super Isko na ka sina, imagine 26 miles. Mapatay ko sina ya guro.

    Etts, until Nov. 18 lang ang plan, but well, we can always make changes, haha.

    lee said:
    October 14, 2006 at 7:27 am

    will fix that etts, kun online ko pwede ta na ma fix wyl chatting.

Leave a Reply

