On Cold Ground

Posted on Updated on

pink roses on gray cement, pathos and loveliness and all that

Alright, so I picked a really corny time to resurface—hearts and flowers day. It seemed apt, since this is supposed to be pretty much a day out of the ordinary, a day to make one’s presence felt. Kumbaya to the universe and all that.

As you can see, I’m being acerbic. The tint on my new pair of glasses is clearly not in the gentle shade of rose.

Well, the beegurl stings, that is one thing I can do.

But I am back. Getting my bearings and rising up from the bowels of online obscurity. See, I haven’t been entirely offline all this time, folks. I have followed blog favorites like a bloodhound, nose on the ground, sniffing out the fine details of other people’s lives. While my own was burgeoning beyond belief. Well, close to it.

Last time I posted that I was going to see autumn, at last. And I did. I saw New York and went to dreamed-of places there for the brief time that I was able. I took pictures, I took road trips, had strange journeys and even stranger homecomings.

I thought about what was before me, and I was beginning to see what could be ahead.

Then there was a generally low time for me during the holidays; tinsel seemed tarnished, sentiments were burdensome. Friends came and went. Talks were half-hearted, resolutions petered out. I felt the year ended flatly, I felt out of sorts.

And today, feeling like “I’m looking at the world from the bottom of a well,” today I blog. Comebacks are always fresh, in the first flush of re-emergence, there is promise in the new. Surely, that counts for something. That probably deserves roses, right?

14 thoughts on “On Cold Ground

    Jo said:
    February 15, 2007 at 9:11 am

    welcome back to online civilization. you were greatly missed, mels. hope you had a happy VD.

    thebee responded:
    February 15, 2007 at 1:51 pm

    Halu! Thanks gwaps. My VD was mainly work, but I will get to drink this weekend, so I think that’s a good enough trade off. 😀

    k.d. said:
    February 16, 2007 at 7:32 am

    …and i guess you have a lot of stories to share! right?

    welcome back! 🙂

    thebee responded:
    February 19, 2007 at 3:55 am

    Hey D! Dude I got your postcard, very late but very much appreciated. 😀 Myconos, huh? Loved the view… I guess you enjoyed your vacay very much!

    forgottenmachine said:
    February 19, 2007 at 11:43 am

    Well, for what it’s worth, this drone is glad to see you resurfacing….

    thebee responded:
    February 21, 2007 at 2:21 am

    Hey fm! Thanks for the cheery words and for dropping by. 😀

    petite said:
    February 26, 2007 at 7:30 am

    bee, i just hope you’re doing ok.

    and of course, i’m looking forward to your stories too. 🙂

    Gigi said:
    February 26, 2007 at 8:31 am

    Welcome back M! I missed you! You’ve got to tell us all about NY and your late 2006 adventures, OK?

    thebee responded:
    March 1, 2007 at 3:29 am

    Hey hello Gi and Petite! 😀 I’m glad to see you here… I’ll catch up on posting soon, but I always sneak into your blogs, even when I don’t have anything to say. Be well! {hugs}

    matabangpusa said:
    March 2, 2007 at 12:22 pm

    Hey, your resurfacing is not corny 😀 The photo..is it yours? It’s amazing how you juxtaposed the beautiful pink roses against the rusty and somewhat lethal-looking rocks and metal. Would make a great theme for a cell phone!

    So, can I change your link to this one? Just making sure it isn’t private 😀

    the bee responded:
    March 6, 2007 at 2:34 am

    Hey Kitty! Nice to see you here. I took that photo in Bacolod, at the public plaza where the flower vendors are. Away from the masses of flowers there was a small container of pink roses left by itself on the ground. It looked intriguing. 😀

    Go ahead with the link, thanks.

    tina said:
    March 8, 2007 at 8:23 pm

    hi mels! welcome back!!

    lee said:
    March 12, 2007 at 2:09 am

    yow bando. nag blog man ko new stuff ah. hehehe. blogabaya!

    lee said:
    March 22, 2007 at 12:20 am

    bands, check this out. pati si jo na addict na
    http://untoldpinoystories.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

