Glasses = Passes?

Posted on Updated on

 

“Men seldom make passes
At girls who wear glasses.”

– Dorothy Parker

 

girl-in-glasses.jpgIt started with—as in the case of most strange occurrences—an infection. I had a slight case of eye infection as divine punishment, no doubt, for wearing my contact lenses for months on end. I was just too lazy (and uncaring) to take them off.

Itchy eyes led me to the ophthalmologist, who righteously reprimanded me and scared me into getting glasses to give my infected eyes a rest from lenses and let them recover from the infection.

Now, I hate wearing glasses. I think they make me look stern and menacing. Owlish. Old. Unattractive. But surprisingly, it turned out that the girl-with-glasses look seems to ahem, work for me. There’s a great article in Salon (written by a man, no less), that fully supports my delusion.

To sum it up, let’s just say that for once, the great Dorothy Parker is wrong.

4 thoughts on “Glasses = Passes?

    cyberpunk said:
    April 9, 2007 at 9:24 am

    i agree…before, glasses are a turn-off, but these days, they’re hot…the nerdy look is very much in…

    be careful in wearing lenses, take care of your eyes…

    as much as i want to, i’m too scared to use contacts…

    thebee responded:
    April 10, 2007 at 4:27 am

    Hey cyberpunk. Thanks for the kind words. How did you happen to drop by? Liked your blog too, I checked it out today. 😀

    bayi said:
    April 10, 2007 at 2:53 pm

    Girls in glasses look “owlish”? Stern? Girls in the right glasses turn men on! There is a certain charm about girls in glasses. The ladies may not be aware of this but many men get turned on…even for reasons they can’t explain! 🙂

    Hi Melissa. Still writing great stuff!

    thebee responded:
    April 11, 2007 at 1:38 am

    Hiya, bayi. Hey I’ve missed you. Thanks for making an appearance here. And for confirming that you find girls in glasses a turn on. 🙂

    I still say you should have your own blog too!

Leave a Reply

