Weekend Burn

Posted on Updated on



Surprisingly, this gig in the urban jungle actually affords me weekends off. With two whole days to squander, I decide to have some barbeque time at home with my little household.

I got a little grill and brushed up on my arson skills, and voila! Yummy pork slabs that got devoured so fast I thought I just imagined them. My kids are always happy on the weekends when I have time to just laze around and chase after them, or read, or have a tickle, or like that weekend, do a slow burn.

With a beer can in hand and tongs on the other, the grill work eased away a toxic work week. There is something about barbecuing, that slow charring that requires you to be patient. To wait and trust that the waiting will yield desirable results. This is the quality of life that was often missing when I was still in that little strip of an island. A fine irony, isn’t it, now that I am in a more demanding job, I find that I still have enough time and energy to be—oh horrors!—laid-back.

I was able to snap pork pictures before the consumption began. Cheers!

7 thoughts on “Weekend Burn

    k.d. said:
    September 28, 2007 at 12:08 pm

    beer & bbq! mmhh! happy weekend! =)

    Sistah#1 said:
    September 29, 2007 at 9:27 pm

    Aaaaaaaa! Sinugba baboy! AAAA! Ako, sa freezer ko: frozen veggies, spring roll wrappers & ice cubes. Aaaa. Laway ko katama.

    Is good u have wkends off na. Pang-hangout sa mga bugoy. Haluk nga madamo para sa ila fr me.

    ‘Day, any recommendations re: a digital cam? Nothing too high-end.

    Cheers!

    thebee responded:
    October 1, 2007 at 10:09 am

    Beer and BBQ–great match. What next? Sausages! What are good sausages for grilling, D?

    Manang: get at least 5megapixel, pwde na.

    lee said:
    October 15, 2007 at 7:04 am

    if manang is your elder sister.. hello kag kamusta lang da ah!

    sinugbalicious baboyliutiful

    thebee responded:
    October 15, 2007 at 11:26 am

    Hola, Lee! Yes that’s her, alright. 😀

    lee said:
    October 16, 2007 at 7:25 am

    let her buy a digital SLR na lang… feels better, shoots better.. costs more galing.

    thebee responded:
    October 16, 2007 at 9:03 am

    Sus LeeSan, I want the digital SLR for my self haha! but grabe kamahal, never mind.

Leave a Reply

