Facebooking

Posted on Updated on

fb-icon1I joke around a lot in Facebook (yes, I am there), and post all kinds of mischief. A personal favorite: fiddling around with the status message field. “What are you doing right now?” asks Facebook, and it’s quite amusing to think up of new stats messages throughout the day. Even if sometimes they’re not quite true. Yes dear, people do lie (or at least twist the truth) in Facebook. Shocker, huh?

Why do you think it’s so addicting? I have a theory-I think people lost their web innocence on Friendster, maybe some got burned, or saw others burned, what with all the hapless revelations and the mountain of dirty laundry hung out to dry that Friendster triggered. Not to mention the insufferably undignified pictures that just spewed out on the pages. There’s no taking them back, you know. The web has a deep dark memory, it’s called the cached page.

So when Facebook came along, it was let loose to an audience that was more savvy, or maybe more circumspect. Mostly, those that have outgrown Friendster and were looking for something better. The giddy tell-all recklessness tied to Friendster became a past indulgence, it was outmoded, no longer desirable, uncool, baduy.

Friendster never did appeal to me. I thought the cluttered interface was so reminiscent of high school slumbooks, way too juvenile to sustain much interest.

Facebook is a little bit different, I find the interface very liberating, you can control what you put there, delete those you do not want to see, screen friends/pseudo friends, Accept/Ignore, or cull your friends list should you so desire. I wish real life was more like Facebook. Actually, I also used to wish there was an Undo function that one can use in real life, but that just doesn’t seem possible.

The viral spread of Facebook left Friendster in the dust. There is a different giddiness to Facebook, there is a surface sobriety that seems to be collectively observed. That, and people do not campaign for testimonials in FB. It’s been fun so far, but how long will it last?

2 thoughts on “Facebooking

    Gigi said:
    December 7, 2008 at 10:03 am

    Yehey, you’re back!

    I’ve got to agree with you. I never got into the Friendster/MySpace thing but I took to FB really quickly. For all the reasons you mentioned, and basically because it’s allowed me to reconnect with people I thought I’d never get to chat with ever again. I’ll see you there, OK? 🙂

    thebee responded:
    December 11, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    Hi Gi,

    Yes, I’m back (well, intermittently), and nice to see you here again… pardon the cobwebs. 🙂 Will look for you on FB!

Leave a Reply

