Job Stats: Current Count

Posted on Updated on

bantayan loungeLoafer’s paradise, or mocking photo for the intrepid, yet so far luck-challenged jobseeker? These days, for me, that photo is more of a mockery.

It’s now 21 days since I was last gainfully employed. I was just daydreaming yesterday, as I went about my lack of business, that I could get used to this. I mean, I could go on with this kind of life—the waking up with not much purpose to one’s day. The 2PM lunches. The unmindful dawdling over coffee. The slow descent into madness.

But before plunging into all that, here are my current job search stats:

34 applications sent through JobStreet

9 applications sent through JobsDB

12 new applications (no views as yet)

5 applications under consideration

5 applications in process

5 applications kept for reference

5 applications with no updates

2 applications withdrawn (unsuccessful)

1 interview in person, still no call

1 phone interview that did not push through (who does these things, anyway?)

8 applications sent directly to companies through their career sites

3 networking efforts (sending resumes to kind folks who promise to pass them on)

I still hang out at the mall, go to internet places, seek out networking possibilities, obsess over grocery shopping. Right now, the adverts for cheap passage into Singapore, Thailand, Malaysia, etc. get more and more attractive as each day passes. How I wish I am financially set up to be able to just drop everything (kids, rent, responsibilities), and travel aimlessly for 6 months. I could do that. I think I can.

3 thoughts on “Job Stats: Current Count

    Tetanus said:
    July 11, 2009 at 6:48 am

    Sorry to hear about the loss of your job. Chin up; good things will come.

    thebee responded:
    July 13, 2009 at 9:22 am

    Hello, Tetanus! Thanks for the encouraging words. Keeping chin up. 🙂

    Tetanus said:
    July 13, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    I’m kind of in a rut myself, so…

Leave a Reply

