The Hurting

Posted on Updated on

Sometimes, when I least expect it, when my mind is not willfully armed against the treacherous onslaught of memories, I suddenly see my boys. Out of nowhere, a series of pictures flashes in my mind’s eye:  my boys’ bright-eyed, smiling faces are always upturned, open and guileless, as only children’s faces can be.

It wrenches my heart and leaves me weak, gasping for breath. They all say it will get better. The pain and the longing? It will fade. The aching desire to reach out and hug them as tight as I can? It will pass, they say. The yearning to smell their warm necks, to hear their laughter? That too will subside.

Well, they all lie. It’s getting close to a year now, and it still hurts the same, every time.

3 thoughts on “The Hurting

    Etta said:
    December 16, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    Bands, I feel your pain…but you need to be strong…for the boys.

    givemetravelfunds said:
    December 17, 2010 at 3:48 pm

    life goes on.

    thebee responded:
    December 17, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    Hi Etts and Lee. It’s OK, I just need to vent a little…daw kaya pa man ah. Life does go on, my faith is that there will be other days where my boys and I will be together. 🙂

Leave a Reply

