What Am I?

Posted on Updated on

 

taxi colombo

 

Touchdown: 3 July in Sri Lanka. I arrive near midnight in Colombo, and get into a Kangaroo taxi to go to my hotel. Not even 5 minutes on the road, the driver looks back at me and says:

Driver: Madam, ah… what are you?

Me: (goes into immediate existentialist crisis) Uh, um… what am I?

Driver: (smiling indulgently) I mean, you are Japanese? Malaysian? Chinese? What are you?

Me: (relieved, whew!) Oh no no no to all that. I’m Filipino.

Driver: I see, from Philippines.

Me: Yes. Don’t I look Filipino?

Driver: Look Japanese.

Me: Hhhmmmm.

 

 

3 thoughts on “What Am I?

    Rohit Rajeev Dubey said:
    July 4, 2016 at 10:37 am

    Haha 😀

      thebee responded:
      July 4, 2016 at 2:12 pm

      Hi, Rohit. I get this a lot. Apparently, I am all kinds of Asian. 🙂

        Rohit Rajeev Dubey said:
        July 4, 2016 at 2:14 pm

        Funny part is that we Indians are Asians too. But no one calls us Asians 😀

Leave a Reply

